ColorPop Halftones - Photoshop Tutorial - TheVectorLab
0

Your Cart is Empty

  • Add description, images, menus and links to your mega menu

  • A column with no settings can be used as a spacer

  • Link to your collections, sales and even external links

  • Add up to five columns

  • ColorPop Halftones - Photoshop Tutorial

    10 Halftone Styles - Any Angle & Scale

    40 Preset Color Options

    Getting Started

    Step 1. Load the “COLORPOP-PALETTE.grd” File

    Go to Window > Gradients.

    In the Gradients Window, click the tab in the upper right corner and choose the “Import Gradients...” option.

    In your downloaded folder, find the “Install These First” sub-folder. Highlight the “COLORPOP-PALETTE.grd” file and click Open.

    Main Instructions

    Step 2. Open Your Layers Panel

    Open the main COLORPOP HALFTONES PSD file. Go to Window > Layers to open your Layers Panel.

    In the Layers Panel, click the Layer Group dropdown arrows to view the contents.

    Step 3. Open the Smart Object to Add Your Image

    Double click any of the Smart Object thumbnails to open up the Smart Object.

    Paste, scale, and position your image in the Smart Object file. Hide the existing Example Art. Save and close the Smart Object file.

    Step 4. Choose and Edit a Halftone Style

    Turn on visibility of ONE of the halftone sublayers. Turn off visibility of all other halftone options.

    Double click the “Pattern Overlay” layer style to change the halftone scale and angle.

    Step 5. Choose a Color Palette

    Turn on the visibility of the “COLORS (optional)” layer. (Otherwise, turning this layer off will result in a standard Process Color palette, similar to how a CMYK image is generated).

    Double click this layer’s thumbnail to choose a color palette. In your Properties Window, click the gradient slider to open the Gradient Editor.

    Since your COLORPOP-PALETTE gradients were loaded in Step 1, you can scroll down to choose from the 40 preset options.

    You can also change these colors to your own preference, as well as move the sliders around to optimize your graphic.

    Step 6. Knockout Your Darkest Ink Color (Optional)

    If you are printing on dark fabric, such as Black, Navy, or Dark Brown, you may choose to knockout your darkest ink color. This will result in less ink and a much softer print.

    To accomplish this, double click on your HALFTONE OPTIONS layer to bring up your Layer Style Blending Options. (Make sure to double click on the layer, not the “HALFTONE OPTIONS” word.)

    Under the “Blend If: Gray” section, move the “Current Layer” leftmost slider a few notches to the right, until your dark ink color disappears. (Make sure your bottom background layer visibility is turned off so you can see the dark ink color drop away.)

    Step 7. Knockout Your Lightest Ink Color (Optional)

    If you are printing on light fabric, such as white, yellow, or light blue, you may choose to knockout your lightest ink color.

    To accomplish this, double click on your HALFTONE OPTIONS layer to bring up your Layer Style Blending Options. (Make sure to double click on the layer, not the “HALFTONE OPTIONS” word.)

    Under the “Blend If: Gray” section, move the “Current Layer” rightmost slider a few notches to the left, until your light ink color disappears. (Make sure your bottom background layer visibility is turned off so you can see the light ink color drop away.)

    Step 8. Export Your Image as a Transparent PNG

    Make sure the “Background” layer visibility is turned off.

    Go to File > Export > Save for Web and use similar settings shown here for best results. The advantage of this method is you can limit your palette to the fewest number of colors that look good with your image. 8 colors work well for this image, but yours may require more (or less!)

    File > Export > Quick Export as PNG works well too, but you won’t have as much control with the number of colors in your PNG.

    Alternatively, you can Select > All, then copy and paste your transparent halftone image into another Photoshop or Illustrator image with an Edit > Copy Merged function.

    Get ColorPop Halftones